The Pitti Palace
Toward the middle of the '400, the seizure of power by the Medici was almost done and Cosimo the Elder took the reins of the city from its new palace in Via Larga; Luca Pitti, a time friend, drove the faction more hostile to him and then to his son Pierò. Luca, belonging to a wealthy family of merchants, gave a decisive importance for its prestige to the fact of being able to have a building even more beautiful than Michelozzo was building for doctors. Chose the place (the hill of Boboli) entrusted to the undertaking to Brunelleschi, asking him to design a building that had the large windows as the doors of Palazzo Medici and dimensions such that it could contain the latter in its courtyard. Brunelleschi he did not let himself be pray (his project for Via Larga was at his time discarded by Cosimo) and gave the drawings around 1445. Work began in 1457 (after the death of the maestro) under the guidance of Luca Fancelli, pupil of Filippo. The forehead on the square consisted only of the seven Central Windows; it had three floors, separated by thin balconies and coated with rusticated stonework. The death of Luca Pitti, in 1473, the palazzo was still unfinished; fallen into disgrace the Pitti, the work was resumed, ironically, precisely by doctors, in the person of Eleonora di Toledo, wife of Cosimo I, who bought the building and the land behind in 1549. Between '500 and '600 doctors did the palace their palace, the accrebbero sistemarono, a garden the hill of Boboli, enlarged the prospectus of nine windows on each side with Giulio and Alfonso Parigi and sumptuously decorated the inside. In XV111 century Ruggieri and Poccianti built for the Lorraine the two lateral wings porticoed (Rondo) embracing the square. It should be noted that each architectural intervention respected substantially the original motifs brunelleschiani, both materials that in the forms. In the period in which Florence was the capital of Italy (1865-71) in Palazzo dwelt Vittorio Emanuele II. Since 1919 is the possession of the Italian State, with its stunning collections, the fruit of centuries of love for art and interest in the culture from the part of its occupants. Hosts seven collections, Galleria Palatina, the Monumental Apartments, the Museo degli Argenti, the Gallery of Modern Art and the Costume Gallery, the Carriage Museum and the Museum of Porcelain.
From the main door leads to the sixteenth century, majestic courtyard by Ammannati (1558-1570) who created an incomparable scenery dominated from the fountain of the artichoke, on the terrace above. In the bottom two small fountains dedicated to Ercole: at the center the Cave of Moses, with allegorical statues in marble. From the courtyard, a staircase on the right, you can climb to the first floor to access the Palatine Gallery.