The stone bridges were built in Venice from the XII century, but it was only in 1588, after the revocation or sabotage of wooden structures, which was designed a stone bridge for Rialto. One of the first wooden bridges collapsed in 1444 under the weight of the spectators during the wedding of the marquis of Ferrara. The work of Vittore Carpaccio, the healing of the obsessive (1496), portrays the fourth bridge, with the movable central portion to allow the passage of the galleys. In the sixteenth century was in a very bad state, and convoked a competition for the design of a new bridge in stone. Michelangelo, Andrea Palladio and Jacopo Sansovino appear among participants, but the race was won by Antonio Da Ponte. The bridge was built between 1588 and 1591 and, until 1854, when he built the Accademia bridge, remained the only possibility of passage on the Grand Canal walk.