The famous Trevi Fountain in Rome is situated between via del Corso and the Quirinale, at the end of via delle Muratte (fourth street on the right of the course). The fountain that takes its name from the small church of Santa Maria in Trivio is the upper part of an old aqueduct, built by M. Agrippa in 19 B.C. to have the water reach its thermal baths.
During the wars of the Goths all the aqueducts of Rome were destroyed and this was restored only in 1453, during the pontificate of Nicholas V. In the second half of the Seventeenth Century, the Bernini was commissioned to produce a fountain, but the project was postponed until the time of Clement XII, in the Eighteenth Century.
Finally, was Nicola Salvi to build this monument late baroque, fusing so very original architecture and sculpture. In the center you can see the Ocean God on a shell drawn by two horses Marini, to the right and to the left there are the allegorical figures of the abundance and health, the small projections show the discovery of the fountain by the Roman soldiers, who were conducted by a young (for this water of the fountain is called "acqua vergine"), next is depicted the design of the aqueduct of Marco Agrippa.
The water jumps and slides on artificial rocks, passing for small tanks and basins until the main basin, at the foot of the group of figures, and some stone benches placed around the fountain invite the visitor to relax in the contemplation of the show.