Santa Maria delle Grazie
The first stone of the Dominican church was placed in 1463. The project of Guiniforte Solari was completed in 1490. Two years later, Ludovico il Moro commissioned Bramante to transform the Church in their own family mausoleum. It was also decorated in the Seventeenth Century by stuccoes and baroque paintings on the initiative of the Tribunal of the Inquisition, was transferred here from 1558.
The restoration of the complex, decayed in the eighteenth century, were initiated at the end of the XIX century. In the night of 15 August 1943, a bomb devastated the Larger Cloister, leaving however intact the tribune and the Cenacle. At the center of the facade in terracotta opens the portal bramantesco. Worth a look even the flank at the end of which stands the tribune of three apses, with the decoration of the pillars, candlesticks and medallions with invocations to the Virgin. Entering Hits the difference immediately between the architecture solariana of the nave, yet close to the ways of the Lombard Gothic, with round arches and entirely frescoed, and that by Bramante the apse part, much more vast and luminous and almost devoid of decoration. Despite a distance of a few years, the two Parties reflect the cultural climate of Milan - one of the richest courts of the late fifteenth century - before and after the arrival of Bramante, the bearer of Renaissance taste.