Florence > Santa Maria Novella

Santa Maria Novella

Its construction began in 1246, the first architects were the friars Sisto and refreshment. In 1300 began the erection of the facade, completed for the lower zone within the half of the century in Romanesque-gothic style typically Florentine. After the half of the XV century Leon Battista Alberti, the great theorist of the architecture of the Fifteenth Century, completed the facade a polychrome inlay, with the central portal and the top part of extraordinary elegance, with eye, the eardrum and side spirals. The interior reveals the influence of Cistercian Gothic in the version "soft" that this style taken in Italy; it is a latin cross with three naves and polistili pillars; an incredible number of works of art it adorns the walls and the chapels. In the second bay of the right aisle is the tomb of Blessed Villana, by Bernardo Rossellino (1451). From the right transept you pass in the Chapel Rucellai; on the altar is a Madonna of Nino Pisano, in the floor the gravestone of Leonardo data, of Ghiberti (1425). The Chapel of Filippo Strozzi (to the right of the high altar) is entirely covered with frescoes by Filippo Lippi (c. 1500) with stories of the Saints John and Filippo. The Chapel MayHell). In the nearby sacristy is placed a crucifix, youth work of Giotto. Finally, the third bay of the left aisle, the marvelous trinity by Masaccio (c. 1427) and the pulpit is carried out on the design of Brunelleschi. Leaving the church, on the right leads to the interesting complex of the cloisters. The Green Cloister, the fourteenth-century, has in the lunettes frescoes by painters of the '400 among which Paolo Uccello, author of scenes of Genesis (beautiful the Deluge, c. 1430); from a side of the cloister you enter in the Chapel of the Spaniards, fourteenth-century environment entirely frescoed, become in '500 Chapel of Spaniards who were following Eleonora di Toledo, wife of Cosimo I. In the near the small cloister of the dead is placed the stained-glass window of the XIV century with the coronation of the Virgin, which closed the burial niche of the facade of the Church.